Talking Microgames on the BGDL Podcast

In a dream-come-true moment, I had the opportunity to be interviewed by a genuine hero of mine, Gabe Barrett, on his show, The Board Game Design Lab podcast.

You can listen to it on his website, or through your preferred podcast app. If you search for it on his podcast, the episode is called [Community Spotlight] Turning Big Games into Microgames with Joe Klipfel and was published on 5/12/2021.

In the interview, we talk about turning popular big games into micro games. He asks me about my process, how I overcome the space and component limitations, what benefit projects like these have for game designers, and why I feel compelled to shrink games in the first place.

I was extremely nervous, so you’ll get a chance to hear me talk so fast I nearly run out of breath. And if you are wondering, Gabe is as nice in real life as he seems on his podcast.

I hope you enjoy the interview!

In case you missed the link, here it is again:

LISTEN TO THE EPISODE

Prototype of Gloomholdin’, my micro version of Gloomhaven. We talk about it in the episode.

Leave a comment